BJP President Amit Shah Attends 3rd North East Democratic Alliance Conclave In Assam

Guwahati: Bharatiya Janata Party President Amit Shah attended the 3rd North East Democratic Alliance (NEDA) in Assam. Earlier today, Shah was accorded a warm welcome by Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal at the Lokapriya Gopinath Bordoloi International Airport at Borjhar.

Six Chief Ministers from different states of the North East participated in the conclave. NEDA is a BJP-led group of regional parties that have traditionally had Congress as a political adversary in the Northeast.

BJP is in power in all the states of the North East expect Mizoram and aims to win maximum seats in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls. The BJP is eyeing to rope in as many as 21 seats among the 25 Lok Sabha seats. The 3rd North East Democratic Alliance (NEDA) was organised at the Srimanta Shankardev Kalakshetra in Guwahati.

The Chief Ministers who participated in NEDA on Sunday were Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Pema Khandu, Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad Sangma, Tripura Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb and Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh, apart from Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal.

Around 120 office-bearers of the Assam BJP unit including ministers and legislators are attending the NEDA conclave at Kalakshetra.

On the other hand, BJP in-charge for the Northeast, Ram Madhav, national general secretary of the BJP Ram Lal, Union Minister of State for Home Affairs Kiren Rijiju, Northeast Zonal Secretary of the BJP Ajay Jamwal, Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) president Atul Bora, NEDA convenor Himanta Biswa Sarma, Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) supremo Hagrama Mohilary, former Forest Minister of Assam Pramila Rani Brahma are among those present in the NEDA conclave.

Several parliamentarians from the north-eastern region including Union Minister of State (Independent Charge), Railways Rajen Gohain are also attending the NEDA conclave.

Post Author: admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *